17th RECOMB Satellite Conference on Comparative Genomics, RECOMB-CG 2019

Montpellier, France - October 1-4, 2019


The annual RECOMB Comparative Genomics Satellite Conference (RECOMB-CG) brings together leading researchers in the mathematical, computational and life sciences to discuss cutting edge research in comparative genomics, with an emphasis on computational approaches and the analysis of novel experimental results. The program will include keynote talks, contributed talks, and a poster session.

The 17th RECOMB-CG conference will be held in Montpellier, France, October 1-4 2019 webpage. With this Call for Papers we invite high-quality original full papers on topics related to the conference theme. A detailed call for posters will be published later on the conference web page.


Papers are solicited on, but not limited to, the following topics:

  • genome evolution
  • genome rearrangements
  • genome variation, diversity and dynamics
  • phylogenomics
  • comparative tools for genome assembly
  • population genomics
  • comparison of functional networks
  • comparative epigenomics
  • paleogenomics
  • cancer evolution genomics
  • epidemiology
  • gene identification and/or annotation


  • Paper Submission Deadline: June 24, 2019
  • Author Notification: July 26, 2019
  • Final Version Due: August 2, 2019
  • Conference: October 1-4, 2019


Submitted papers must have not been published or be currently under consideration for publication in any other journal or conference with formal proceedings. All accepted papers will have to be presented by one of the authors at the conference.

Accepted papers will be published in one of two journals:

  • a special issue of BMC Genomics, edited by a RECOMB-CG PC chair,
  • a special issue of BMC Bioinformatics, edited by a RECOMB-CG PC chair.

As BMC Genomics and BMC Bioinformatics are Open Access journals, there will be an author fee of roughly £1,000 (1,000 Pounds Sterling) for publication in the event that an article is accepted in one of these two journals.

Authors will need to indicate upon submission their preferred publication option (BMC Genomics, BMC Bioinformatics). This preference should be stated in the Abstract section of the Easychair submission page. However, the final decision about the journal for each paper will be taken by the RECOMB-CG PC chairs and communicated to the authors upon acceptance.

Papers must be submitted in PDF format according to the guidelines for authors of the respective journal:

Papers submitted in BMC format must be within 10 pages. A clearly marked appendix can be added to the submission that contains supplementary material made available to the reviewers.

All submissions must be made online, through the EasyChair submission system, at the following address: submissions

Authors need to register on easychair before submitting. A standard PDF file must be received by midnight on June 24, 2016 (any time zone).


  • Max Alekseyev (George Washington University)
  • Nikita Alexeev (ITMO University)
  • Lars Arvestad (Stockholm University)
  • Severine Berard (ISEM, University of Montpellier) co-chair
  • Anne Bergeron (Universite du Quebec a Montreal)
  • Marilia Braga (Bielefeld University)
  • Alessandra Carbone (Sorbonne Université)
  • Annie Chateau (LIRMM, University of Montpellier) co-chair
  • Cedric Chauve (Simon Fraser University)
  • Rayan Chikhi (Institut Pasteur)
  • Leonid Chindelevitch (Simon Fraser University)
  • Miklós Csűrös (University of Montréal)
  • Daniel Doerr (Bielefeld University)
  • Ingo Ebersberger (Goethe University Frankfurt)
  • Nadia El-Mabrouk (University of Montreal)
  • Oliver Eulenstein (Iowa State University)
  • Guillaume Fertin (CNRS, LINA, University of Nantes)
  • Pawel Gorecki (University of Warsaw)
  • Michael Hallett (Concordia University)
  • Fábio Henrique Viduani Martinez (Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso do Sul)
  • Katharina Jahn (ETH Zurich)
  • Asif Javed (Genome Institute of Singapore)
  • Manuel Lafond (Université de Sherbrooke)
  • Yu Lin (Australian National University)
  • Simone Linz (The University of Auckland)
  • Kevin Liu (Michigan State University)
  • Ketil Malde (Institute of Marine Research, Norway)
  • István Miklós (Rényi Institute, Hungarian Academy of Sciences)
  • Bernard Moret (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)
  • Luay Nakhleh (Rice University)
  • Aïda Ouangraou (University of Sherbrooke)
  • Fabio Pardi (CNRS, LIRMM, Université Montpellier)
  • Teresa Przytycka (NCBI)
  • Vaibhav Rajan (National University of Singapore)
  • Marie-France Sagot (INRIA, LBBE, Lyon)
  • Michael Sammeth (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)
  • Celine Scornavacca (CNRS, ISE-M, Université Montpellier)
  • Mingfu Shao (The Pennsylvania State University)
  • Jens Stoye (Bielefeld University)
  • Krister Swenson (CNRS, LIRMM, University of Montpellier) co-chair
  • Jijun Tang (University of South Carolina)
  • Eric Tannier (INRIA, LBBE, Lyon)
  • Glenn Tesler (University of California San Diego)
  • Olivier Tremblay-Savard (University of Manitoba)
  • Tamir Tuller (Tel Aviv University)
  • Jean-Stéphane Varré (CRIStAL, Université Lille 1)
  • Lusheng Wang (City University of Hong Kong)
  • Mathias Weller (CNRS, LIGM, University of Eastern Paris - Marne-la-Vallée) co-chair
  • Sophia Yancopoulos (New York, USA)
  • Louxin Zhang (National University of Singapore)
  • Xiuwei Zhang (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Jie Zheng (ShanghaiTech University)